October Books logo
October Books, 243 Portswood Road, Southampton SO17 2NG  Open Mon-Sat, 9am-6pm
Web www.octoberbooks.org  Email   Tel 023 8058 1030  Fax 023 8058 1040
Home
Order Online
Books
Adoption
Kids' Books
Students
Magazines
Fair Trade
Organic Goods
Local Goods
Green Goods
Events
Map
Our History
Links
Bookstalls
Volunteers
Contact Us
Adoption
Children Adopted From China (CACH) www.cach.org.uk
China Adoption Resources China Adoption Resource guide, everything you need to know about adopting from China. www.chinaAdoptionResources.com

Animal Welfare
Southampton Animal Concern 01489 584035
Compassion in World Farming www.ciwf.org.uk
Animal Aid www.animalaid.org.uk

Book tokens
E-book Cards National Book Tokens are selling e-book cards now, allowing you to support your independent bookshop. www.nationalbooktokens.com/ebooks

Co-operatives
Co-operative Assistance Network, 1 Brunswick Place, Southampton SO15 2AN. 023 8071 0622. www.can.coop
Co-operatives UK www.uk.coop
Rice Up www.riceup.co.uk

Environment
Environment Centre, 14-15 Brunswick Place, Southampton SO15 2AQ. 023 8033 6172. www.environmentcentre.com. Practical support for companies, schools, community groups and individuals.
Environmental Rock www.environmental-rock.org.uk. A free yearly event held in the spring at the Hobbit pub in Bevois Valley Rd, Southampton, with lots of stalls by environmental groups. October Books have a stall there, selling environmental books, magazines and badges.
South-West Hants Green Party www.swhantsgreenparty.org.uk.
Greenpeace www.greenpeace.org.uk.
Friends of the Earth www.foe.co.uk.
The Green Party www.greenparty.org.uk. October Books sells their magazine - Green World
Southampton Real Nappy Network www.southamptonnappies.com. Promotes washable rather than disposable nappies.
Southampton Seed Swap www.octoberbooks.org/seedswap. Seed swap event in Southampton - sponsored by October Books.
Solar panels www.bockweb.net/alois/solar. Facts and figures by someone living in Chandlers Ford who installed solar panels.
Hampshire Green Book Blog http://hampshiresgreenbook.wordpress.com.

Fair Trade
Vandanamu www.vandanamu.co.uk. Based in Southampton, they supply us with many fair trade goods made in Pondicherry (India). October Books helped them to put together their website.
Shop Equality, 67b Cranbury Road (entrance is on Factory Road), Eastleigh, Hampshire, SO50 5HB. 023 8057 4990. Huge range of fair trade foods and household goods. They used to be The Fairtrade Shop in Shirley, Southampton, but moved to Eastleigh in Autumn 2011. www.shopequality.co.uk.
Fuzzi, 8 Parchment Street, Winchester, SO23 8AT. Opened in Autumn 2011. www.fuzzi.co.uk.
Southampton Fair Trade Group www.fair-trade-southampton.org.uk

Human Rights
Amnesty International www.amnesty.org.

Local Organic Fruit & Veg
Sunnyfields www.sunnyfields.co.uk. 023 8087 1408. An organic farm with a farm shop in Jacobs Gutter Lane, Totton, Southampton. They can also deliver a box of organic fruit/veg to your house weekly.
Riverford www.riverford.co.uk. 01803 762720. They can deliver a box of organic fruit/veg to your house weekly.

Local Arts + Community
Active Arts Community www.activeartists.org.uk. Alternative arts events, mainly at Allsorts Psychic Cafe on Friday and Saturday evenings.
Bakoji Paintyard local artist, selling artworks as well as delivering a range of art and djembe based workshops for businesses, schools and communiities. www.bakojigallery.co.uk
Portswood.info www.portswood.info - a website with Portswood news and events. Well worth a look - they also have one for Bitterne Park
Southampton and District Woodcraft Folk http://woodcraft.scphillips.com - an educational movement for children and young people. See also their national website: www.woodcraft.org.uk

Politics
Folk Against Fascism www.folkagainstfascism.com.

Poverty
Oxfam www.oxfam.org.uk.
Action Aid www.actionaid.org.uk.
Make Poverty History makepovertyhistory.org.

Radical bookshops in the UK with websites
News from Nowhere, 96 Bold Street, Liverpool, L1 4HY. 0151 708 7270. www.newsfromnowhere.org.uk
Word Power Bookshop, 43 West Nicolson Street, Edinburgh EH8 9DB. 0131 662 9112. www.word-power.co.uk
Housmans Bookshop, 5 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DX. 020 7837 4473. www.housmans.com
The Basement, 24 Lever St, Manchester. 07753 606723. http://thebasement.clearerchannel.org
Alternative Bookshop Online, www.alternativebookshop.com
Cowley Club, 12 London Road, Brighton, BN1 4JA. www.cowleyclub.org.uk

Recycling
Jamie's Computer Club Unit 33, Mount Pleasant Industrial Estate, Mount Pleasant Road, Southampton. 023 8063 2198. www.jamiescomputerclub.org.uk. Takes unwanted computer equipment from people or companies, refurbishes it, sells it to the public or gives it free to charities or low-income families. Trains homeless and vulnerably-housed people in computer refurbishment.
Southampton Freecycle Group http://groups.freecycle.org/southamptonfreecycle. You can offer items for free that you don't want any more and request items that you want. An excellent way to avoid your unwanted items going to landfill, and to save money. A very active group with lots of new offers every day.
Recycle More www.recycle-more.co.uk. Excellent advice on recycling.

Travel
Chandlers Ford and Romsey Rail Action www.romseyrail.com.

Vegetarian/Vegan
Solent Vegetarians & Vegans www.solentveg.org.uk. A local group, mainly social.
Allsorts Psychic Café, 22 Carlton Place, Southampton. Tel: 023 8023 7561. www.allsortspsychiccafe.com. Fully veggie café.
The Art House, 178 Above Bar Street, Southampton, SO14 7DW. www.thearthousesouthampton.co.uk. Art gallery with fully veggie café. They moved from their previous address in Bedford Place to this much bigger venue in April 2009.
Indian Melody, 25 High Street, Southampton SO14 2DF. 023 8063 899. www.indianmelody.net. Indian vegetarian restaurant which opened in 2010.
Nutshell 07892 871 253. www.nutshellfood.co.uk. Exclusively vegetarian caterers based in Southampton.
Puja Sweet Mart, 57 St Mary's Road, Southampton. 023 8023 3677. They sells exclusively vegetarian Indian sweets and savouries.
Evolve Campaigns www.evolvecampaigns.org.uk. Educational website on the environment and nutrition.
The Vegetarian Society www.vegsoc.org.
The Vegan Society www.vegansociety.com. October Books sells their magazine - The Vegan.
Viva! www.viva.org.uk.
Vegan Views www.veganviews.org.uk. October Books sells their magazine - Vegan Views.